SHREVEPORT DUI LAWYER
Shreveport DWI Lawyer
Being arrested for driving while under the influence can be a confusing process that can lead to some severe consequences, especially for repeat offenders. DUI or DWI charges in Louisiana can lead to license suspension, fees, and even jail time. Luckily, a skilled criminal defense attorney can help defend the rights of those accused of driving while intoxicated and can help them receive favorable trial results.
When facing criminal charges, you could be at risk of losing your freedom. At Greenwald Law Firm, we provide our clients with expert legal guidance and help them receive favorable results in court for any charges they may be facing. If you have been charged with a DWI in the Shreveport/Bossier City area, call us at (318) 219-7867 and schedule a free case evaluation with Attorney Greenwald today.
Top DWI/DUI Attorney in Shreveport, LA, and the Surrounding Areas
If you have been accused of driving while under the influence, your future may be on the line. Whether you’re facing misdemeanor charges or felony charges, a criminal conviction could stay on your record and permanently affect your life. While every U.S. citizen has a right to defend themselves, DUI cases can require a great deal of experience in criminal law and an in-depth understanding of the Louisiana legal system.
With over 20 years of experience in criminal defense work, Shreveport criminal defense attorney Joseph Greenwald, Jr. can evaluate the facts of the case and provide you with an expert legal defense tailored to you and your circumstances. His goal is to help you achieve the best possible outcome for your case, whether that be a lesser sentence or even a complete acquittal. The Greenwald Law Firm is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so call us at (318) 219-7867 and schedule a free consultation regarding your case today.
Louisiana R.S. 14:98
Under Louisiana R.S. § 14:98, anyone over the age of 21 found operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or above is considered to be driving while intoxicated. Additionally, anyone operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol is considered to be driving under the influence. These charges are often referred to as DUI, DWI, or OUI, and extend to motor vehicles such as cars, boats, and aircrafts.
The consequences for a DWI depend on how many prior DWI convictions you have on your record, but even first-time offenses can include fines, court and rehabilitation fees, driver’s license suspension, and jail time. You may even have your driver’s license revoked if you refuse a breathalyzer or chemical test. If you have been arrested for a DWI in Shreveport, Louisiana, or the surrounding areas, call the Greenwald Law Firm at (318) 219-7867 or contact us online today.
Penalties for DUIs in Louisiana
Driving while intoxicated is a crime under Louisiana law and can lead someone to be arrested and charged with a DWI. The severity of the penalties depends on the number of previous DWI convictions on their record. If this is someone’s first or second DUI offense, they’ll be charged with a misdemeanor in Louisiana. Third, fourth, and subsequent DUI offenses are felony charges. Felonies carry harsher punishments and can have lifelong consequences.
Someone caught driving while intoxicated may face other penalties outside of their DUI case. For example, if a person is caught driving while under the influence of drugs and is found to be in possession of any controlled substances, they could face drug charges. If someone driving under the influence causes a wreck and hurts someone, they may be found financially liable for damages in a personal injury lawsuit.
A skilled DUI lawyer can help those accused of driving under the influence understand the penalties they may be facing. Additionally, DUI lawyers will have in-depth knowledge of Louisiana criminal law and can help their clients receive a favorable outcome in court following their arrest. The Greenwald Law Firm is proud to serve the residents of Shreveport, Louisiana, and provide them with expert criminal defense.
First Offense DUI
According to La. R.S. 14:98.1, if someone is caught driving while under the influence and they have never been previously charged with a DWI, they may face fines no less than $300 and no more than $1,000, and anywhere between 10 days to 6 months in jail.
Their jail sentence may be suspended if they are placed on probation and participate in at least 48 hours of mandatory community service, a court-approved substance abuse program, and a court-approved driver improvement program. They may have their license suspended while on probation and may only be able to drive cars equipped with an ignition interlocking device (IID).
Second Offense DUI
Under La. R.S. 14:98.2, if someone is caught driving while intoxicated for the second time in 10 years of their first DWI offense, they may face fines no less than $750 and no more than $1,000, and anywhere between 30 days to 6 months in jail. They must also serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail following their arrest.
Their jail sentence may be suspended if they are placed on probation and serve either 15 days in jail or complete 240 hours of community service, and participate in court-approved substance abuse and driver improvement programs. They may also have their license suspended and will only be able to drive cars equipped with an IID for at least 6 months.
Third Offense DUI
According to La. R.S. 14:98.3, if someone is caught driving while intoxicated for the third time in 10 years of their first DWI offense, they may face a fine of $2,000 and anywhere between 1 and 5 years in jail. The first year of their prison sentence must be served without suspension, probation, or parole. After that, they may serve part of their sentence on house arrest.
After their first year, they may be placed on probation. They can remain on probation if they participate in 240 hours of community service, obtain employment, and participate in a driver improvement program. They must also either submit to a health evaluation and participate in a treatment program, or participate in a substance abuse program.
The person convicted will have their license suspended for a year, after which they will be given a restricted driver’s license. They will only be able to drive cars equipped with an IID until their substance abuse treatment and/or home incarceration is complete.
Fourth & Subsequent DUI Offenses
According to La. R.S. 14:98.4, if someone is caught driving while intoxicated four or more times within 10 years of their first DWI offense, they may face a fine of $5,000 and anywhere between 10 and 30 years in jail. The first year of their prison sentence must be served without suspension, probation, or parole. If they have previously participated in a drug abuse program for their first, second, or third offense, they must serve the first three years of their prison sentence without suspension, probation, or parole. They may also be denied the ability to serve the remainder of their sentence on house arrest.
After the first 1-3 years of their sentence, they may be placed on probation. They can remain on probation if they participate in 320 hours of community service, obtain employment, and participate in a driver improvement program. They must also either submit to a health evaluation and participate in a treatment program, or participate in a substance abuse program.
The person convicted will have their license suspended for a year, after which they will be given a restricted driver’s license. They will only be able to drive cars equipped with an IID until their substance abuse treatment is complete.
In Louisiana, some circumstances could cause a person to face enhanced DUI penalties. If someone is caught with a BAC of over 0.15, they may face 48 hours of mandatory jail time on their first offense and 96 hours of mandatory jail time on their second offense.
If someone is caught with a BAC of 0.20 or more, they may face the same mandatory time in jail as well as pay a $750 to $1,000 fine, use an IID for 12 months, and have their license suspended for 2 years. On their second offense with a BAC of 0.20 or more, they will have to serve mandatory time in jail, pay a $1,000 fine, use an IID for three years, and have their license suspended for 4 years.
In all DWI cases, it’s important to find a skilled DWI attorney who can build a strong case in your defense. If you are facing enhanced DUI charges, Attorney Greenwald can help you avoid any additional consequences. Call us at (318) 219-7867 so that we can discuss your case with you.
How Shreveport DWI Lawyers Can Help
When your freedom is at risk, you’ll want a strong defense. That’s why hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney can be a worthy investment. After someone is accused of driving under the influence, they could face a DWI conviction and could be sentenced to prison. A DWI attorney will negotiate with Caddo Parish prosecuting attorneys to arrange a favorable plea deal, which can help their client avoid harsh penalties, even on a second, third, or fourth DWI offense.
A DWI lawyer will also have a comprehensive understanding of Louisiana criminal law and can help clients through any legal proceedings following their arrest. Additionally, they can provide legal representation in a criminal trial and help their client through the entire process.
Call Shreveport DWI Defense Attorney Joseph Greenwald Today
If you need a DWI attorney, look no further than Greenwald Law Firm LLC. With 20 years of experience in trying criminal cases in Caddo Parish, Louisiana, you can rest easy knowing your case is in good hands. We will fight to help you receive the best possible DWI case result. Our team will negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf, gather information on your arrest, and represent you in court so you can avoid hefty fines and even extensive jail time.
The Greenwald Law Firm is proud to offer expert legal services to the residents of Shreveport, Bossier City, and the surrounding areas. In addition to criminal defense, Attorney Greenwald also handles personal injury cases and estate planning matters. Call Joseph Greenwald, Jr., Attorney at Law, today at (318) 219-7867 and receive a free consultation.